Hans Rinderknecht, Dan Casey, Alex Zylstra, and Mike Rosenberg

MIT graduate students and alumni (left to right) Hans Rinderknecht (physics), Dan Casey PhD '12 (nuclear science and engineering), Alex Zylstra (physics), and Mike Rosenberg PhD '14 (physics) stand with a neutron spectrometer. Rinderknecht and Zylstra have just been awarded Lawrence Postdoctoral Fellowships.

Photo: Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

MIT graduate students receive prestigious Lawrence award

Paul Rivenberg  |  MIT News

When MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center (PSFC) graduate students Hans Rinderknecht and Alex Zylstra applied for a prestigious Lawrence Postdoctoral Fellowship, they knew they were competing with each other, and over 200 other outstanding applicants. Because Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) awards only two to four fellowships per year, the chances of winning were slim; the chances of both winning seemed almost impossible. But the student colleagues, members of the MIT Physics Department who both work in the PSFC’s High-Energy-Density (HEDP) division, were thrilled to learn they had each received the award. The three-year fellowship, named after Ernest Orlando Lawrence, who received the Nobel Prize in 1939 for inventing the cyclotron, is given to candidates who have exceptional talent, scientific track records, and potential for significant achievements. The Lawrence fellowship is given out to a wide range of disciplines in the physical and biological sciences. 

Read complete article

Topics: Plasma science, High-energy-density physics, Richard Petrasso