NEWS: Spintronics

Shoma Akamatsu stands to the right of the photo. A window to his left shows a city skyline

Shoma Akamatsu receives the Advanced Technology Award

MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center visiting graduate student Shoma Akamatsu has been presented with the Advanced Technology Award. A student at Tohoku University in Japan, Akamatsu came to the PSFC to conduct specialized experiments with Senior Research Scientist Jagadeesh Moodera.

Robert Griffin, MIT

Robert Griffin elected to the National Academy of Sciences

The NAS has elected 120 new members and 30 international associates, including five professors from MIT — Dan Freedman, Robert Griffin, Larry Guth, Stephen Morris, and Gigliola Staffilani — in recognition of their “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.Membership is one of the highest honors that a scientist can achieve.

MIT News

Jagadeesh Moodera, MIT

Exploring new paths to future quantum electronics

“Investigating the complex interface behavior when two quantum systems are coupled is a treasure island to be explored for new discoveries and for advancing the field,” says PSFC senior research scientist Jagadeesh Moodera.